What is ITIL?

The ITIL (Information Technology Infrastructure Library) is a framework designed to standardize the selection, planning, delivery and maintenance of IT services within a business. The goal is to improve efficiency and achieve predictable service delivery. The ITIL framework enables IT administrators to be a business service partner, rather than just back-end support. ITIL guidelines and best practices align IT department actions and expenses to business needs and change them as the business grows or shifts direction.

  • The organization released ITIL v1 in 1989.
  • In 2000, the CCTA folded into the Office of Government Commerce (OGC) and released ITIL v2 the following year.
  • ITIL v3 emerged in 2007 and was updated in 2011 to include feedback from the user and training community, as well as resolve errors and inconsistencies.
  • Global best practice company Axelos currently oversees ITIL development. Axelos announced the latest ITIL guidelines in 2017. The organization is releasing ITIL v4 throughout 2018 and 2019.

What is ITIL certification and is it worth it?

The ITIL v3 certification scheme previously consisted of five levels: Foundation, Practitioner, Intermediate, Expert and Master. :

  1. Foundation: This entry-level certification covers key concepts, elements and terminology used for the ITIL service life cycle and contributions to management services.
  2. Practitioner: This level helps professionals adapt ITIL to their organizations so it supports business objectives.
  3. Intermediate: Each module of this certification goes into different components of ITSM but requires more detailed knowledge than Foundation-level exams. The track is split into service life cycle and service capability modules.
  4. Expert: ITIL experts obtain a set of well-rounded skills pertaining to ITIL best practices. Admins must complete 17 credits from previous modules, the Managing across the Life cycle module and an exam to get an Expert certification.
  5. Master: At the Master level, admins need to explain how they chose their areas of study, principles and methods, as well as the techniques they used within their organization to achieve wanted business outcomes. To achieve Master status, there is no certification exam; admins complete a series of written assignments and oral interviews.

Each level required a stronger depth of knowledge and understanding of ITIL. The certification scheme under ITIL 4.

What is the ITIL 4 Certification Scheme?

The full certification scheme has now been released. You can view the scheme and the suggested journeys for candidates who are already ITIL qualified.

The update will include practical guidance on how to shape and tailor your IT management strategy in the increasingly complex modern environment.

  • ITIL 4 Certification
  • ITIL v3
  • ITIL on the road
  • ITIL workshops

The first release of ITIL 4 will be the Foundation level, currently scheduled to be launched in Q1 2019, with the following levels due for release in H2 2019. The certification scheme shared below is aligned with ITIL v3 and has been streamlined to provide clear paths for practitioners to continue their ITIL journey.

ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP) targets IT practitioners working within technology and digital teams across businesses. The Managing Professional (MP) stream provides practical and technical knowledge about how to run successful IT projects, teams and workflows.

ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL) recognizes the value of ITIL, not just for IT operations, but for all digitally enabled services. Becoming an ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL) demonstrates that the professional has a clear understanding of how IT influences and directs business strategy.

To obtain the designation ITIL Managing Professional or ITIL Strategic Leader, the professional must complete all modules in each stream, with ITIL Strategist being a universal module for both streams.

When will the publications be released?

The ITIL Foundation guidance will be released in Q1 2019. Publications associated with ITIL Specialist, Strategist and Leader will be released along with the modules in Q2 2019.

How does ITIL V3 Map against ITIL 4?

Whilst ITIL 4 retains many of the core elements of ITILv3, and much of the existing guidance will be recognizable in parts of ITIL 4, there are no direct like-for-like modules between the two certification schemes.

When will ITIL V3 be discontinued?

The transition will be a gradual process, allowing for end-learners to continue collecting their ITIL v3 Intermediate credits to enable transition to ITIL Managing Professional. AXELOS will therefore not discontinue ITIL v3 (stop maintaining exams, publishing books or accrediting candidates) before June 2020.